Please enter a search term

Individual Prizes and Fellowships

Swartz Prize for Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience

Swartz Prize recipient at Neuroscience 2013

2013 Swartz Prize for Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience recipient William S. Bialek (right) and SfN Past President Larry W. Swanson, PhD.

The Swartz Prize, supported by the Swartz Foundation, honors an individual whose activities have produced a significant cumulative contribution to theoretical models or computational methods in neuroscience or who has made a particularly noteworthy in theoretical or computational neuroscience.

Recipients receive a $25,000 prize and complimentary registration, transportation (economy air or ground), and two nights hotel accommodations for the SfN annual meeting, as well as a lecture slot at the Dynamical Neuroscience Satellite Event (sponsored by NIMH). The SfN president presents the prize at a lecture at the SfN annual meeting.

For questions or more information, see the Frequently Asked Questions.

Contact SfN

If you have questions, email or
call 202-962-4000.

Want to be heard?
Contact SfN to leave feedback

Swartz Prize Selection Committee

ChairpersonTerm Ends
J Anthony Movshon, PhD
New York Univ
Larry Abbott, PhD
Columbia Univ
Dora E Angelaki, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine
Albert Compte, PhD
Markus Meister, PhD
California Institute of Technology
Alexandre Pouget, PhD
University of Geneva
Jennifer L Raymond, PhD
Stanford University School of Medicine
Maneesh Sahani, PhD
University College London