Please enter a search term

Individual Prizes and Fellowships

Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience

Gerard Prize recipient honored at Neuroscience 2013.

2013 Ralph W. Gerard Prize awardee Carol A. Barnes, PhD with SfN Past President Larry W. Swanson, PhD.

The Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience honors an outstanding scientist who has made significant contributions to neuroscience throughout his or her career.

The highest recognition conferred by SfN, the Gerard Prize is named for Dr. Ralph W. Gerard, a revered neuroscientist who was instrumental in establishing SfN and served as honorary president 1970-1974.

Recipients receive a $25,000 prize and complimentary registration, transportation (economy air or ground), and two nights hotel accommodations for the SfN annual meeting. The SfN President presents the prize at a lecture at the meeting.

For questions or more information, see the Frequently Asked Questions.

Contact SfN

If you have questions, email or
call 202-962-4000.

Want to be heard?
Contact SfN to leave feedback

Ralph W. Gerard Prize Selection Committee

ChairpersonTerm Ends
William T Newsome III, PhD
Stanford Univ Sch Med
Thomas J Carew, PhD
New York University
Catherine G Dulac, PhD
Harvard Univ
Frances E Jensen, MD
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Eve E Marder, PhD
Volen Center
John M O'keefe, PhD
Univ Col London
Marcus E Raichle, MD
Washington Univ Sch Med
Leslie B. Vosshall, PhD
The Rockefeller University